Exciting new BGU tournament series for both men and women - GolfRSA Race to 2021

- 04 August 2020

After nearly 5 months of no competitive golf in the Boland a very exiting golf challenge awaits both men and women golfers of the Union – the GolfRSA Race to 2021.
Abrie Swanepoel, Director of Golf of the BGU, explains how this exciting series will be run: “All club opens/ tournaments for the rest of 2020 will form the part of the “GolfRSA Race to 2021. We will run a stand-alone ranking system to identify the top player at the end of the year. GolfRSA will award the winner of the “Race to 2021” an exempt spot in the 2021 AON SA Amateur Championships and R5 000 towards expenses associated with participation in the Championship. (Exemption into this Championship is subject to a Handicap Index limit of 6.5 and the qualifying player submitting the entry prior to the closing date)
All men and ladies affiliated to either the BGU or BLGU will be able to enter and compete. More on the “Race to 2021”
• Currently 5 tournaments forms part of “Race to 21”, possibility to add more tournaments. (The full fixture is available on our website www.bolandgolf.co.za)
• Only players who have competed in a minimum of 3 events will be eligible to win the Race
• Your ranking position will be determined by the average “Differential” of your 3 best results.
Meaning the more you play, the better your chances of winning
• The “Differential” is calculated as follows: Gross Score – Course Rating +/- PCC = Diff
• Entry for these events are open to all BGU and BLGU affiliated golfers. (Men and Ladies)
• Ladies to participate from adjusted tee’s
• In the event of the field being oversubscribed, preference will be awarded to the lower H.I
first. The ballot will be conducted based on H.I with lower H. I’s getting preference.
• All events will be 18 holes stroke play only.
• All tournaments will be played under the BGU & BLGU “Risk Mitigation Plan” guidelines to ensure all players safety
• All Race to 2021 events will also form part of the BGU 2020/21 Order of Merits. (2021 IPT team selections)
The first event of the Race to 2021 is the Pearl Valley Championships (to be played on 23 August) and entries will go live 5th August, kindly enter directly with the club.”
• In the event of the leading player either not qualifying for, or unable to take their place in the 2021 AON SA Amateur Championship, the R5000-00 contribution to costs will be made directly to the players Club account to subsidise their membership or pre-paid playing fees.)

Boland Golf Union